When setting up a device, especially a network router, you often have the option to leave things “default”. What does this really mean and what effect does it have on your network?
What you are basically saying when you leave something as default is “let the router determine what to do”.
This can be a problem when the default behavior changes. This is most often changed when going from one software version to another. Maybe someone determined that leaving a particular option enabled was no ideal. Maybe it caused issues, or is now being replaced by a different way of doing things.
Sometimes default configs are designed to make the product easier to configure. This is typically true of many consumer based devices. The company wants you to have a good experience and not have to call them for technical support.
Keep these things in mind when you see a checkbox or something that says “default”.